McMansions

It’s a rainy Friday arvo, so you get a few posts. Yesterday the local ‘EveryAussie‘ paper had this as the front page news:

That headline was in response to this.
I’m not even going to comment on the political and environmental issues in the story, all I really wanted to say is the local government sucks for allowing the development of housing estates where you can reach out your side window and touch your next door neighbour’s bricks. Where you can mow your lawn with a electric carving knife. Where there’s virtually no trees or green spaces and acres of colour co-ordinated Colorbond roofs. Sure, the houses look nice and must be luxurious to live in – the term used is “housing obesity”, I think the problem is more “land anorexia”. I hope, dear readers, that you don’t take offence to my rave on housing preferences. Everyone has their reasons for living where they do. I just think that the “Australian Dream” isn’t what it used to be, and families and communities could be suffering as a result, I worry for the future.

And while I’m complaining, how come a 4WD is now a family “necessity”? Our childhood was spent stuffed in the back seat of a Chrysler Galant sedan. We survived.

Everything’s getting “bigger and better” “new and improved” …when will it end?

4 Responses to “McMansions”


  1. 1 joyflea Saturday, May 19, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    I agree with every word that you wrote!! I saw that headline and thought to myself, “Now, haven’t I been saying that for ages!!?”

  2. 2 Spinning Pretty Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    I second that! No-one needs to hear their next door neighbour flushing their toilet!

  3. 3 Tonya Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 7:22 am

    and I third. Aren’t we all a ridiculous lot?

  4. 4 do not trust any weight loss products except hcg drops Saturday, August 30, 2014 at 3:49 am

    Hi, the whole thing is going sound here and ofcourse every one is
    sharing information, that’s truly excellent, keep up writing.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,120 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


