Just an Old Fashioned Girl

Listening to Eartha Kitt this morning, and these lyrics amused me:

I’m just an old fashioned girl with an old fashioned mind
Not sophisticated, I’m the sweet and simple kind.
I want an old fashioned house, with an old fashioned fence
And an old fashioned millionaire.
I want an old fashioned car, a cerise Cadillac,
Long enhough to put a bowling alley in the back.
I want an old fashioned house, with an old fashioned fence
And an old fashioned millionaire.
I’ll stay weaving at my loom,
Be no trouble to my groom,
If he’ll keep the piles of money mounting.
In our cottage there will be
A soundproof nursery
Not to wake the baby while I’m counting.
I like the old fashioned flowers, violets are for me –
Have them made in diamonds by the man at Tiffany.
I want an old fashioned house, with an old fashioned fence
And an old fashioned millionaire.
I’m just a pilgrim at heart, oh so pure and genteel.
Watch me in Las Vegas while I’m at the spinning wheel!
I want an old fashioned house, with an old fashioned fence
And an old fashioned millionaire.
I’ll ask for such simple things when my birthday occurs:
Two appartment buildings that are labelled ‘Hers’ and ‘Hers’.
I want an old fashioned house, with an old fashioned fence
And an old fashioned millionaire.
I like Chopin and Bizet
And the songs of yesterday,
String quartets and Polonesian carols.
But the music that excels
Is the sound of oil wells
As they slurp, slurp, slurp into the barrels.
Our little home will be quaint as an old parasol,
And instead of carpet I’ll have money wall to wall.
I want an old fashioned house, with an old fashioned fence
And an old fashioned millionaire.

0 Responses to “Just an Old Fashioned Girl”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,108 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


