Art Every Day #11 – rockin’ my socks

As knitting a pair of socks is one of my New Year’s resolutions, because I’ve never knitted any before, this weekend, I decided to start this.

First I started off with size 3 needles, as they were the only double pointed ones I could find in my knitting bag, and after pottering along, I ended up with this:

first-go-at-sock-knitting.jpg

Obviously I decided that as I wasn’t making socks for 8 year olds, I needed some bigger needles, or to cast on heaps more stitches.  I was wandering into my craft room in search of something else, looked up at my shelves, and there were my no. 4 sized needles.  Yay! So I started again.  Still in the midst of knitting the ribbing…I think this project will take a while, but as it’s just for me and practise, there’s no rush.

I also had a bit of a rockin’ morning, compiling this cd for Christmas.  My faves are the Brian Setzer Orchestra numbers, I think I’ll have to get their Christmas album for yuletide boogie-ing.  So tomorrow I have to make 9 cd covers for the swaps …or 10 maybe – Zazazu, did you want me to send you one too?  Bummed out I couldn’t find Bruce Springsteen’s Santa Claus is Coming to Town on iTunes…I’ll have to try to find the cd I guess. (I love Bruce!)  Anyway, back to the knitting…

1 Response to “Art Every Day #11 – rockin’ my socks”


  1. 1 zazazu Monday, November 12, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    I’m not in on that swap, I don’t think. (The ONE swap in Bloglandia that I’m not in on!) But, sure, if you have extra, of course I’d love one! :)


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


