Domesticity and op-shopping

Kitchen Apron, originally uploaded by Playingwithbrushes.

Round the portionvilla, we’re still in the process of decluttering. Yesterday I put 6 bags of assorted clothes, bedding, kitchen stuff and Tupperware into the boot of the car to drop off at the oppy tomorrow. (In addition to the 5 bags I left there on Thursday.) So I’ve had a bit of a break from the ‘puter, and am still working on some overdue (hi Anthea!) stitching projects.

I’m thinking I might have to avoid the op-shop for a few weeks, to avoid the tempation of buying back the stuff I donated, har har. I did pick up some odds and ends on Thursday though… a vintage rectangular frosted mirror, some 70’s writing sets, a cute coffee cannister, a nice 50’s choccy tin, more doileys for The Project, more white pillowcases for stitching, a new ironing board cover, a odd little birdie bakelite ashtry and a old tin letter rack with pics of vintage cars on it. I had to restrain myself from buying a 40’s dinner set, it was pale green, with a rose motif in the centre, and had scalloped edges with gold trim. Most of it was there, but I decided not to get it, as HP is very wary of using my old china for everyday meals (except for the Beryl and Iris pieces), so there was really no point in getting them. And I decided the bowls were too small and shallow. Added to this, it was being sold by the piece, and the price tags were just too high! Of course, now I’m thinking about it, I’d wish I’d bought it, but NO I don’t need it.

coffee-table-for-blog.jpg

Tin and birdie ashtray on coffee table.

swan-mirror-for-blog.jpg

(Crappy photo of mirror, not in perfect condition, but still charming.  My mother had a diamond shaped one with the same design.)

coffee-cannister-for-blog.jpg


(Little coffee cannister in a fave colour combo.  And I like the fact that the base proudly states “Made in Australia”.)

After an experience with no money and a blue wren traced linen tablecloth recently, I’ve decided my first rule of op-shopping is: IF YOU LOVE IT, BUY IT, RIGHT NOW ‘CAUSE IT WON’T BE THERE WHEN YOU GO BACK!!! So when I found these hanky sets the other week, I swallowed my pride and asked HP to transfer some money.

hankies-2.jpg

hankies-1.jpg

Hand stitched on Irish linen.  Pretty, and I love the 30’s design box. So far the theme for 2008 seems to be “out with the new, in with the old”…for my homewares anyway.

0 Responses to “Domesticity and op-shopping”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,176 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


