Thrifty Thursday

On my way back from a lunchtime appointment I called into Spotlight (Grr! Slow! Disorganised! Can’t find what I’m looking for!) and into my local Salvos.  I had a look through the books which was nice apart from having to listen to 2 very annoying “men” going through the old records and making very loud redundant “jokes” about Barry Manilow and John Denver.  And one of them was convinced that the “David Gray” LP was our very own “Ugly” Dave Gray…I went and had a look after they left, it wasn’t. Fool.  (There’s a copy of Sally Boyden’s ‘The Littlest Australian’ if anyone’s been looking for one.)

Anyway, I was rather chuffed to find this little lot:

oppy-for-blog.jpg

The book in the middle probably rates as the book most borrowed by me from the Creswick Library circa 1980.  I loved it, and really wanted my own copy…it covers everything from Archery to White Mice, and I think it deserves it own post later, I’ll scan some for you.

Also found some crafty magazines – the ‘Woman’s Day Handicrafts’ amused me, because contained therein was a pattern for a frog…and I won a green cord version of this frog when I was about 5 for the best costume at a dress up party that my Mam (Mum’s mother) took me to.  Froglet:

rice-frog.jpg

‘Handicrafts’ also includes some scary macrame jewellery, knitting, origami, stuffed lion, tortoise and super cute hedgehog and owl patterns. 

I know the shabby chickens amongst you out there will want a closer look at this hand-painted door tile:

ballerina-tile-for-brain.jpg

I must confess, the map of Australia tea towel would have come in very handy at Brown Owls on Monday, as I’m sure I didn’t draw the State boundaries properly, let alone put the capital cities in the right place. (And this from a person that did VCE Geography! For shame.)

And this ad in Stitchcraft made me think of Brooke, no prizes for guessing why!

patons-ad.jpg

7 Responses to “Thrifty Thursday”


  1. 1 Melanie Thursday, March 6, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Are you from Creswick as in near-Ballarat? Hey what a small world – my mum lives there now, and we’re often up that way (I grew up in Castlemaine).

    Love that froggy! (A kind of scary looking froggie was the first softie I ever attempted. We named him Squish, as in roadkill!)

  2. 2 Cass Thursday, March 6, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Some great finds. I think I made one of those frogs when I was a lot younger

  3. 3 hiddenart Friday, March 7, 2008 at 1:41 am

    I still have my frog. A neighbor gave it to me, and I always loved its quirkiness. It sits in my sewing room.:)
    amanda

  4. 4 bitterbetty Friday, March 7, 2008 at 1:45 am

    Far be it from me, to ever resist a craftbook.
    Nice Haul.

  5. 5 bits of myself Friday, March 7, 2008 at 2:44 am

    love the froglet! i’ve both purchased and made one. i’d love to see the pattern you got.

  6. 6 drewzel Friday, March 7, 2008 at 8:36 am

    Thanks peeps!
    I’ll scan the patterns for the soft toys tonight and add them to my Flickr. I think I’m all amped up to make a “squished” frog, as I don’t know what happened to the one I had when I was a kid.
    Mel, yep, I grew up in Creswick and went to high school in Ballarat. My parents still lived there (in Creswick) until the mid 1990’s.

  7. 7 CurlyPops Sunday, March 9, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I have that same Womans Day Handicrafts Book!


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,107 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


