This is…my creation

I almost forgot to do Betty the Geek’s “this is…” theme.  We’re all always creating, good, bad and indifferent things (and by things, I don’t just mean craft items)…but one of the things I’m happiest about creating is my garden.  After I moved out of my (rental) house with the colour co-ordinated rose garden that I’d made in Sth Caufield to a flat in St Kilda, and all my cactii were stolen, I was pretty much over gardening, and a bit bummed out.  So I didn’t really attempt any gardening until 5 or 6 years later when we bought the house we’re living in now.  It previously was a rental, and had a back yard with nothing but grass, and some sad-arse shrubs in the front.  Now it’s certainly not fit for ‘Gardening Australia’ to come and feature, especially due to the various “installations” by HP in the garden, but it’s much greener than it was, and has 4 times as many trees as it had when we moved in.  Almost everything is natives, as we live on what were sand dunes and I don’t water anything at all.

Banksia in front yard, flower starting:

banksia.jpg

I really like the shrubs in our front yard, because the Wattle birds love them and now regularly use the grevillea for snacks and have had babies and brought their young to eat the nectar too.  Thankfully my cats leave the birds alone (basically my cats are getting old and are pretty much useless) and just like to sit there and pretend they’re jungle creatures:

jungle-piddy.jpg

Here’s Woddy’s tree in the backyard, Jessie is now next to it too.  It’s growing nice and big and slowly blocking off the top storey deck that the neighbours built that overlooks our back yard.

woddys-tree.jpg

And the worm farm is chugging along, although we can’t get any fertilizer from the castings until I replace the tap that Lola chewed off (however the ground under the worm farm should be nice and healthy!)…the worm farm was a pressie a couple of Christmases ago from HP’s mum, and last Easter we got the worms to go with it:

 worm-farm.jpg

So that’s good for recycling ANY organic matter (and I mean any.  Yep, dog poo too.  The cat poo doesn’t make it there, because Lola eats it.  Yeah, everyone, “eeewwwwwwwwwww”.)

So the garden continues to be a work in progress, watched over by one of my fave things there, Sid:

 sid2.jpg

[Footnote- just in case you’re new to this blog…Woddy and Jessie are my old dogs, no longer with us.  Lola is also one of my dogs.  Thought I better say that, just in case you thought I had a little daughter that I let eat cat poo.]

8 Responses to “This is…my creation”


  1. 1 lovestitches Tuesday, March 18, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    It looks quite lush for an aussie garden in summer.

  2. 2 laurajcarroll Tuesday, March 18, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    It looks really great. I’m very impressed by the banksia.

  3. 3 Jenny Tuesday, March 18, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Yes me too! That banksia is amazing! Lovely garden! Thanks for clearing up the cat poo thing!

  4. 4 joyflea Wednesday, March 19, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Hey, I thought you were having a break!!

    You should be very proud of your garden. I’m on the same path as you-transforming a fairly barren space into something the possums and native birds feel comfortable frollicking in.

    I love those eucy flowers!

  5. 5 drewzel Wednesday, March 19, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Yeah I am, but seeing as I committed to play the “This is…” game, I thought I better at least do those posts :P

  6. 6 geekbetty Thursday, March 20, 2008 at 10:29 am

    what a beautiful garden!

  7. 7 Steve Monday, March 31, 2008 at 4:00 am

    This is a good resource for worm farms…

    http://compostingwormbins.com/

  8. 8 Steve Monday, March 31, 2008 at 3:00 am

    This is a good resource for worm farms…

    http://compostingwormbins.com/


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


