Sunday Crafternoon WIP

wip, originally uploaded by drewzel.

I know, I said I’m over this craft blogging for a bit, but you want to see this, right? For ages I’ve been hoarding fabric from Aunty Cookie and Lara Cameron. Last week I ordered some from Hollabee too, so I thought I’ll make something for ME with it all. So I just joined sections together to make a throw for the couch. After Easter I’ll have to get some quilt backing and finish it off…but I’m rather pleased with it. It’s hard to go wrong with such beautiful fabric!

10 Responses to “Sunday Crafternoon WIP”


  1. 1 Hannah Sunday, March 23, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    yep, definitely want to see this… this is lovely. love the different shapes. (and yes, the fabric is gorgeous). nice work :)

  2. 2 CurlyPops Sunday, March 23, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    That’s really beautiful. I think the best type of quilt is one that is thrown together with pieces of fabric that you love.

  3. 3 Sharon Monday, March 24, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Hi! Thats lovely, can’t wait to see it finished.

  4. 4 Kitty Monday, March 24, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Hey Steph,
    It looks great so far! I like your mix of local girls fabric too.
    Hope to see you at brown owls soon.

  5. 5 linnea Monday, March 24, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    That is coming out great! I really want to make a quilt. I love all of your fabric choices and patterns. Lucky couch!

  6. 6 drewzel Monday, March 24, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    About 10 minutes after I took the pic, the cat came and sat on top of the quilt and proceeded to make pudding. That’s why I keep having to make couch throws, Sebby keeps claiming all the blankies in the place. :)

    Thanks for the nice comments peeps, there’s links to the fabric makers blogs in my sidebar if you want to check out their stuff.

  7. 7 Sherrin Tuesday, March 25, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    This looks great. What a nice way to use up some special hoarded fabrics!

    (and thanks for your comment on my blog- I’m not *that* bad with the shyness thing- more when I’m rocking up to a group of new people, that sort of thing… I would LOVE to go to Brown Owls, but it’s hard to get there. My partner does shift night work, and doesn’t always know when. (and there are three small people to look after) It’s so bloody hard to commit to anything. When the next casual spots come up, I will see if he’s working or not, and will try to come.:o) )

  8. 8 drewzel Tuesday, March 25, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Sherrin,
    maybe come to the mother’s day one on may 3rd…you can bring the kidlets (if they’re over 6 though.) ??
    Shift work is a pain, I remember when I used to do it I had to organise myself from fortnight to fortnight as i couldn’t do anything further ahead because I had to wait for the roster to come out. Bah!
    Not sure which bit o’ Melbourne you’re in…we should “do” coffee :P

  9. 9 Jenaveve Thursday, March 27, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Definitely glad to see this. Andy hey, you’ve given me an idea for a project to put some of my newly collected fabrics that I just don’t want to cut into right now.

  10. 10 thornberry Thursday, March 27, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    It’s very very nice! Great fabrics, and you’ve put them together really well. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,165 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


