Happy Talk

You know the song
You don’t actually have to watch that South Pacific clip, unless you’re a fan. Round the Portion-villa, we’re a bit fond of singing it and taking the piss (not unkindly though, just enjoying the kitsch value.) This movie is another one of my mum’s favourites. My favourite song from it is ‘Gonna Wash that Man Right out of my Hair’, not sure if I like the tune, the lyrics or the way in the movie the gals manage to make sudsy heads look glamourous. Anyway, I digress, we’re talking happy talk here.

So, in the interests of happiness and contributions thereto, today I just thought I’d share a few things that I’m loving right now:

1. The Decemberists – not that that’s anything new, but for some reason I can’t stop playing “The Mariner’s Revenge Song“. Probably something to do with my (non-Jack Sparrow related) love of pirates, as we old pirates love a good sea shanty.

2. Stationery – this is also nothing new, but I took this pic yesterday :

stationery.jpg

No, I didn’t need another note pad, but I HAD to have it! HAD to! I even got a micro-lecture from HP when I added it to the shopping about how unneccessary it was. But I’ve always been addicted to pens, notepads, et al, ever since I was a wee Drewzel. I suppose I was destined for an office job.

3. Friends that make me laugh – especially at work.
Part of e-mail convo from Knitting Knazi:

From: the knitting knazi
Sent: Wednesday, 26 March 2008 11:09 AM
To: drewzel
Subject: Re: The closest you’ll get to one of those soppy friendship emails from me.

As a fellow member of the Les-Miserables-Is-NOT-Opera Society I sincerely promise to never tell you I’m reading ‘My Steve’

xx

_____________________________________________

4. Half (or less) price Easter Eggs – friends, eggs, choccy bunnies, lend me your ears!  During lunchbreak yesterday, my friend Cathy and I were actually waiting next to the manager at our local K-mart yesterday as he was marking down all the leftovers.  Say YES! to Red Tulip Elegant rabbits for $1!

5. Michael Palin (see earlier post). But don’t worry Ben Lee, I still love you too! (S’yeah right, I’m sure he’s worried.)

6. Sweet caring people who send me mail lurve to cheer me up:

pressie-from-gemma.jpg

7. Friends lending me fun books:

 policeman-book-cover.jpg

[Stay tuned for further adventures of Mike the policeman.]

8. I think this is quite obvious from the earlier things I love, but yep, friends, that care and help when things are crap.  Friends that care and help when things are good. You know who you are.  Yay!

Okay peeps, not that I’m starting memes or anything, but if you’re reading this, the challenge is to do some Happy Talking and list some things on yer blawg that make your sun shine.  And sing some South Pacific tunes too if you feel so inclined.

0 Responses to “Happy Talk”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


