Autumn time, and the knitting is easy

Well, not really, I don’t find knitting easy at all.  I know you’re thinking “surely not Drewzel, as you’re so super-fab at all other crafts surely your knitting must be perfection too?” In a word, no. (And I know you weren’t thinking the above either, but I’m allowed to fantasize.)

To me, knitting is tricky…following a pattern, counting rows, stitches,  doing tension squares, adjusting patterns to fit your bits and pieces that aren’t standard…it all does my head in.  But yep, as soon as the weather turns cold, the knitting bug bites me.  Luckily my good buddy the Knitting Knazi is able to help with questions (and yes I did ask her “What the hell is Bind Off?”) and untangle my messes.  And to further my efforts, I’ve contacted my local Stitch’n’Bitch gals and am hanging for the next meet.

In the meantime, my project is a blankie out of squares (because I need another scarf like I need a fatter arse.)  I’ve been guilty of fondling wool in shops, adding to my “stash” (and for a non-knitter, it’s a pretty big stash – I recently thrifted an old suitcase to hold it all), and plonking my rear on the couch, needles in hand while watching IQ’d* episodes of ‘Knitty Gritty’. 

So what have I got to show for all this?  Besides the aforementioned stash, 2 finished squares for my blankie and another one on the kneedles.  Here’s today’s requisite yummy wool picture:

autumn-knitty.jpg

* IQ = cable tv recording box, I think they’re called “TBO” in the USA??

By the way, I know the pink doesn’t really go with the red, but I had to show off that ballerina fat quarter that I bought up at Big W last week.

4 Responses to “Autumn time, and the knitting is easy”


  1. 1 sarahbird Monday, March 31, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    That is some beautiful yarn!
    –Sarah

  2. 2 lovestitches Monday, March 31, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I had a few balls of that yarn that I bought when I worked at Spotlight last year. My mum knitted a scarf from it for me.

  3. 3 CurlyPops Monday, March 31, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    I can’t knit but I still watch knitty gritty and I just don’t get it. I’m getting IQ installed on Thursday (yah) so I’ll never miss another episode.

  4. 4 Rebekah Vessey Tuesday, April 1, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    oooo I love that yarn. Coming from a crocheter who is turning to knitting I love it.

    It is TiVo in the US.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


