On self-esteem or “everyone is lovely”

What’s that quote…something like: to be only you in a world that is trying it’s best to make you into something else, is the greatest achievement.*  I had lunch with one of my BFFs (that’s supposed to stand for Best Female Friend) and she was telling me how an unflattering photo of her at a party was the straw that broke the camel’s back at the end of a bad day. She of course printed it out and stuck it to the fridge, deciding she was a fat cow and was worthless. She later e-mailed me the “offending” photo, and of course, to me it wasn’t bad at all…actually the first thing I thought when I saw it was “good hair day”.  But it does demonstrate to me how precarious our grip on self-esteem can be, especially when the world is conspiring against you to make you feel crap. 

The universe works in mysterious ways in that it brings stuff together to point something out to you.  This morning when I opened my email, this was in my mailbox:

chickentvads.jpg

And then fellow Brown Owl Christie swung by the blog and left me a comment, which led to me finding this post of hers, which eventually led me to this site:

beautiful-stickers.jpg

Which seems like a wonderful project, and I know Kirsty has embraced it.

I started to think about “you are beautiful”…what is beautiful? What does it mean?  Dictionary.com gave me this:

adjective –
1. having beauty; having qualities that give great pleasure or satisfaction to see, hear, think about, etc.; delighting the senses or mind: a beautiful dress; a beautiful speech.
2. excellent of its kind: a beautiful putt on the seventh hole; The chef served us a beautiful roast of beef.
3. wonderful; very pleasing or satisfying

…which made sense.  Everyone’s beautiful…you are beautiful. [I’m not convinced serial killers etc are beautiful, but I won’t go there right now.]  However, I’d much prefer everyone to consider themselves lovely.

Lovely, capable of being loved, worthy of receiving love. Lovely.  Dictionary.com told me this:

adjective
1. charmingly or exquisitely beautiful: a lovely flower.
2. having a beauty that appeals to the heart or mind as well as to the eye, as a person or a face.
3. delightful; highly pleasing: to have a lovely time.
4. of a great moral or spiritual beauty.

Moral and spiritual beauty, gotta love that.  You are LOVELY.  All of you.  And I’m off to tell my best friend that (yet again I might add.)

By the way, me quibbling over words isn’t going to stop the odd “You are beautiful” sticker from appearing in my world. Lovely.

[* I just found the quote: “To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”  Thanks Ralph Waldo Emerson]

9 Responses to “On self-esteem or “everyone is lovely””


  1. 1 Michelle Friday, April 4, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    What a BEAUTIFUL post! Really!

  2. 2 drewzel Friday, April 4, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Ta. Every post by everyone is beautiful. hahahaha :P

  3. 3 Sally McEntire Saturday, April 5, 2008 at 1:47 am

    I really needed that! Have a lovely day.

  4. 4 Kirsty Saturday, April 5, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Great post Steph – I was originally a bit weird about the “beautiful” too but I’m choosing to apply the term to spirit only. The other is in the eye of the beholder anyway eh?

  5. 5 Maureen Monday, April 7, 2008 at 5:19 am

    Made me smile, and that can’t be bad.

  6. 6 nat Friday, April 11, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    don’t agree about the bad hair day, but the picture has gone in the bin!!!

  7. 7 nat Friday, April 11, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    but I do like the beautiful analogy.
    One of my inspirations at the moment is Dr Wayne Dyer and he has a wonderful saying of “you can’t give away what you don’t have”
    if you don’t have beauty in your soul, if you don’t have love, if you dont have kindness then you can’t give it away. We get back what we put out and if we believe we are beautiful then so will the world.

  8. 8 linnea Saturday, April 12, 2008 at 1:53 am

    This was a great way to start off my day! Thanks!

  9. 9 Jenny Sunday, April 13, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    LOL!! Very funny indeed!;)


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,108 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


