These are…my perfect dinner party guests

This week’s “this is” theme (and I know, I still haven’t got around to showing you my jewellery box yet…but that’s because I don’t have one anyway, so it’ll be a picture of my dresser…when I’ve dusted it and tidied the bedroom …soon…tonight…well…tomorrow…!) is “This is…my perfect dinner party guest list”.  Thanks Lily & Agathe!  I thought I’d better do mine before I start reading everyone else’s, because otherwise I’ll start thinking “ooh, I want them too” and I’ll end up with a list the size of the United Nations. We’ve all discussed this one, usually after a few drinks with friends, so you know the drill.  Having a dinner party, who would you invite, dead or alive?  We can only ask 6 other people though, which is a bit hard, so I’ve just stuck to 20th century people:

1. Anais Nin – I love her writing, and every biography I’ve read of her – she sounds fascinating.  I think if she was alive today she’d be a wicked blogger.

2. Ben Lee – this is self-indulgence on my part, but I’d really like to have a chat with him, ask him about the music industry, what inspires him…he appears to have a sheer joy for living and so I’d like to meet him.  If he’s busy that night, Bruce Springsteen can come along instead.

3. Spike Milligan – one of my favourite comedians and he also suffered from mental illness…maybe he could bring along the rest of the Goons too.

4. Stephen Hawking – because I’ve tried to read his book a few times, but still don’t get quantum physics, so maybe he could explain it to me.  And HP would enjoy a chat with him as well.

5. Drew Barrymore – I love Drew!  Simply delightful, and I think she’d get along well with Anais.

6. Andy Warhol – it’s a party, gotta have Andy.  ‘Nuff said.  (In the pic he’s with Edie Sedgwick, she’s welcome to come along too.)

HP does most of the cooking in the household, so everyone’s getting curry (with all the trimmings – pappadums, chutney, Naan bread) as he makes fantastic curry.  I think we’ll have mango cheesecake for dessert.  And lots of good drinkies.

By the way, does anyone know of stylish wine glasses WITHOUT long stems? I had a gathering at my house Thursday evening and of course on Friday, broke one of my stupid, impractical wine glasses myself, after worrying about the dogs and Sebby knocking them over the night before.  I hate wine glasses.  Any suggestions appreciated.  So if you’re at my house and you’re offered your Chardy in a jam-jar, don’t be surprised.

6 Responses to “These are…my perfect dinner party guests”


  1. 1 Sherrin Monday, April 14, 2008 at 11:10 am

    There are wine glasses without stems… they’re still shaped the same, but they have flat bottoms. Bummer about your wine glasses.

    I agree! Andy Warhol would be great, if somewhat off on his own tangent!!

  2. 2 CurlyPops Monday, April 14, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Fantastic dinner guests. I think Ben Lee and Stephen Hawking would both be extremely interesting to talk to. Love the menu – indian food, yummo, and cheesecake is one of my favourite desserts!

  3. 3 Kirsty Monday, April 14, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    The date is getting some Reidel glasses for his birthday – they are gorgeous.

  4. 4 Christie Monday, April 14, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    We use the stemless Reidel’s at home-they rock!! We use them for everything, wine, mixed drinks, juice…

  5. 5 Maureen Tuesday, April 15, 2008 at 6:48 am

    I want that food…can I come if I work Stephen Hawkings voice machine for him?

    and yes, there are stemless wineglasses with round wobbly bottoms. I saw them at Crate and Barrel.

  6. 6 Betty in the Kitchen Wednesday, April 16, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    I think Andy Warhol and Steven HAwkins would have so much to discuss. It would be amazing. A great list thanks for sharing


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


