Couch spudding & Adam Sandler babble

I’ve had a rather quiet weekend.  I actually don’t have any complaints about that.  I’ve done a lot of sleeping, laundry, knitting, and tv watching. (And spent huge amounts of time moving teh blog.)  I have been quite the couch potato.  It’s nice to have the luxury to be able to do that.
TV time:

  • Saw an episode of My Name is Earl today that I hadn’t seen, and it cracked me up. Season 2 "Our cops is on".  This was followed by a showing of This is Spinal Tap, which I can always watch again and again.  I was trying to find you a YouTube clip of the Earl episode, but alas, no luck.
  • As I don’t bother to go to the movies much now, I sat down last night and watched the Adam Sandler film Reign Over Me on Foxtel, and although I had my doubts about the 9-11 linkage in the plot, I ended up enjoying it.  Mostly due to the soundtrack, and Sandler’s convincing portrayal of a man with post traumatic stress disorder. However, he did remind me physically of Bob Geldof, which was rather unsettling.   Adam Sandler being crazy makes a nice change from his goofy ‘grandma’s boy’ character that he usually does. (However, I love ‘The Wedding Singer’ and ’50 First Dates’ lots. But that might be the Drew factor.)  Further fossicking around on the internet gave me this review, which I tend to agree with.  I’m not sure if I was interested in this film because of the mental health plotline, or the inclusion of Brooce and the Who and the importance of music to the main character, but I did feel that they wrapped up the film and brought it to it’s conclusion too quickly, with a nice romantic cliche thrown in by Saffron Burrows’ character.  And I really didn’t understand the intentions or the behaviour of Adam Sandler’s in-laws.  Overall I liked it, and it must have made some impact on me for me to waffle this much about it.

The other weekend fun thing I did was cake baking.  I pulled out my copy of this book, which I really adore, both for the simple recipes, and the presentation.  "Do yourself a favour" as Molly would say, if you don’t have a copy.  I made the "All together cake" – perfect for a lazy baker like me and baked it in my Kentish cake tin.  (Still yet to make a Kentish cake, I might add.)  I’ll add a piccy tomorrow when I get them off the camera.  I so love nanna-style tea and cakes, I didn’t actually have a nanna that did that sort of thing, but Mum always made cakes when we were younger.  I suppose I’ve got baking on my mind, because I need a recipe for my Brown Owls cooking badge, and I can’t find my little recipe notebook right now.  Of course, I didn’t get through my "things to do" list that I always have on the go every weekend, and now feel slightly guilty.  But I’ll deal with that tomorrow.

Sunday_cake_for_blog

Okay, enough pointless babble, off to make some tea (and eat more cake.)  Hope you had a fun weekend, whatever you got up to.

PS. Speaking of Adam Sandler movies, I LOVE this one.  Anyone into the music scene in the early 90’s will laugh their arse off. So bad, so stoopid, it’s awesome. (Oh, and a long haired Brendan Fraser isn’t bad either.)

0 Responses to “Couch spudding & Adam Sandler babble”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,108 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


