Vintage thingies Thursdays #1

Roses_china

On a Friday, yes I know.  I had a busy day, and ended up asleep on the couch after dinner, so the thingies just had to wait.  Here are some thingies, tea cup ones, to be precise.  One of my little collections – flowery china.  I don’t really collect it anymore but I hang onto these pieces because they’re sweet and the tea set was an engagement pressie given to mum and dad, and it’s all crazed, but still lovely. I don’t think it’s ever been used.  This is what I refer to as the "blowsy roses" side of my china cabinet.  The doiley is thrifted and from the 1930’s (I think) and the cups and saucers are various garage sale finds that my mum bought for me. And the sugar rose at the front is from my brother’s wedding cake, circa 2002.  I do use the cups and saucers when I feel the need to break into a little Sunday high tea.  Collection wise, I generally just pick up Art Deco patterned china when I find it now, as it’s my favourite of all.   Aren’t my thingies just so pretty?

7 Responses to “Vintage thingies Thursdays #1”


  1. 1 Amy Friday, June 6, 2008 at 10:30 am

    oooh now THAT is a beautiful tea set :-)

  2. 2 The Apron Queen Friday, June 6, 2008 at 10:55 am

    My youngest daughter would freak over this tea set. She loves having tea parties even though she is a rough & tumble tomboy. She is silly like that! :D

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. 3 woman in a window Friday, June 6, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Such pretty things, these cups, things that beg to be touched.

  4. 4 CurlyPops Friday, June 6, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Ooooh I love love love vintage floral tea sets in pink and red tones…..gorgeousness!

  5. 5 Jewelgirl Friday, June 6, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Luv all those tea cups + teapot, nothing like a spot of
    tea once in awhile. I would love
    to see your Deco china!

  6. 6 Emily Saturday, June 7, 2008 at 2:12 am

    I am drooling over your tea set! It is absolutely beautiful! I LOVE tea sets, tea pots, tea cups. This is a beautiful set! Thank you for sharing!! :) Have a great day!

  7. 7 Hannah Sunday, June 8, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Oh, these are just LOVELY. Love them love them love them. I would have to use them… all the time! Just gorgeous.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,108 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


