More about Rattus

The Rattus presence continues, and as I was saying yesterday, quite brazen in his comings and goings.  We have found the hole that’s been chewed through the plasterboard of the wall into the pantry, and Rattus is so cheeky that he’ll sit there and look at you from the safety of the mouse hole. So before I sat down to watch ‘Ugly Betty’ last night, I decided to install an old-fashioned mousetrap. 

The first one didn’t work very well, it basically turned a circle, looked cranky, and demanded to be removed from the shelf that it was on.  So I told Drew she was useless, and then installed the Piddy 2000 (actually she’s a 1997 model).  Piddy also turned a circle, but then decided this was a nice place to sit and made herself comfortable, back against the mouse hole.  Let it be noted that Rattus ran past while I was in the process of installing Drew, that is the level of arrogance that the rodent had risen to.  Anyway, Piddy was sitting happily on the shelf, all black fluff and owl eyes, so I left her there and went to watch the teev.

About 45 minutes later, I heard "mrrrrrrrrrrrow!!!! mrroooooooooowww!!" and thought, oops, I’ve left Piddy there, she can’t get out… but it wasn’t a "let me in/let me out" meow, but a "Look what I’ve done mum!" And lo and behold:

Piddy_and_1_rattus

She caught a Rattus.  I told her she was a good girl, and she proceeded to eat it all up…so I didn’t feel sad, because she was quick and deadly and I guess Rattus is now recycled.  She decided to stay in the cupboard for the rest of the evening, and had even reinstalled herself to a lower shelf when I got up this morning.  Hmmm, the Piddy 2000 Intuitive Mousetrap?..

Now it remains to be seen if the Rattus problem is gone, or if Rattus brought the wife and kids to live with him.  Piddy, get used to that cupboard.

3 Responses to “More about Rattus”


  1. 1 Amy Thursday, June 12, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    cool! we get more mice here than rats and in the last 2 months, because it’s been getting colder here, the trap we’ve put out has caught 15 mice

  2. 2 CurlyPops Thursday, June 12, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I can’t believe you actually got a photo, that’s hilarious!

  3. 3 Jenaveve Friday, June 13, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Yay Piddy 2000!!!! Great model that one. (Great pic – that’s one nasty little Rattus alright). Well I hope she’s up to the challenge if wife, kiddies or long-lost Uncle do happen to make an appearance.

    You crack me up with your description of Rattus charging past in the middle of the Drew-installation… reminds me of a recent mouse incident we had in our kitchen – I’m not kidding when I say this little bugger ran past our two dogs at least 5 times… and they only picked up on the scent about an HOUR later. We tried the old ‘cheese in the mouse trap’ trick. Took a few go’s at it too (the cheese kept disappearing, and I know it wasn’t the pups).


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


