Whinge

Just had a look at the pics on Mike’s for the Museum of Printing excursion.  Golly it looked fun, and yep I shoulda gone.  You know why? Because as it transpired, I ended up having the afternoon to myself.  Which I spent sleeping.  I’d planned to do things with birthday boy, but he’d made other plans as I found out on Friday.  So now I’m pissed off and using blog as vent.  I made him birthday lunch and then at 1.30 Person 1 rang to say "where are you?  you’re supposed to be helping me move Person 2’s stuff out of the trailer."  Who are these people?  They aren’t technically friends but people that HP knows through work and is trying to help.  One is an unmedicated Schizo speed addict, the other one is an alcoholic speed addict.  Person 1 goes off her nuts and beats Person 2.  They decide they want to split up (again), Person 1 gets an intervention order on Person 2, and tomorrow Person 2 goes to court for assault charges.  I haven’t met either of these people.  Kind hearted HP is helping them because they have no other friends, live in a caravan park in a rat infested unit with no money, and is generally trying to do them a good turn.  I’m not impressed by it all actually.  I have an overwhelming sense of doom about the whole thing, and I know one or both of them is gonna turn around and bite him on the arse.  So today, on his birthday, he’s spent all day from 2.30 to now (well its now 9pm and he’s not back yet) moving Person 2’s stuff out. And buying the boxes to put it all in ($5 each from Bunnings).  And putting all the stuff in our car.  And promising to leave it all at our house for Person 2 until Person 2 has somewhere to live (he’s in a charity bedsit at the moment.) [Those that have seen our house know there’s no more room for any crap.]  I feel like a bad person because I’m pissed off about his involvement in the whole thing, but I’m trying to remain distanced.  Part of me is upset because this is not the first time he’s busted his balls for marginal "friends" and it makes me feel second best, as nothing around here happens with the same sense of urgency.   I know he’s trying to be a good person and all, but I just can’t bring myself to be big hearted about it, and I think I’m being a bit of a bitch to him about it. I dunno, I’m just ranting.  When I asked him earlier today if he’d mind helping me clean up the kitchen and  lounge tomorrow and throw out some stuff because I was finding it overwhelming, I got the response "What’s wrong with it? Get over it, stop fussing woman", so right now I really just want to run screaming out of my cluttered, oppressive, crappy house and not come back.  But I won’t, because I know I’m in a down mood too.  So I’m here with Miss Lola on the couch staring vacantly at ‘Mind Your Language’ on the teev, and all I know is, not happy Jan.

9 Responses to “Whinge”


  1. 1 CurlyPops Sunday, June 15, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Oh no…what a sucky day you had. I hope it improves when he gets home.

  2. 2 Jenaveve Sunday, June 15, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Tricky scenario that one… you want to go with your gut feeling usually (I know I do) but at the same time you want to help someone out. Hmmm… and keeping a distance of the whole thing gets harder when it starts to creep into your home life. Like Cam says – hope things turn around later tonight.

  3. 3 Kirsty Sunday, June 15, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Less thinking – more smiling.

  4. 4 drewzel Monday, June 16, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Yep, need to do some smiling. I’m “going with the flow” at the moment and see what pans out. But it’s stressing him out, I know that much, and it’s hard to sit by and be supportive and not get upset.

  5. 5 Marita Monday, June 16, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    What an awful day. Don’t feel bad, understandable reaction to the situation, but HP sounds like one of the good guys. Hope today was better.

  6. 6 Christie Monday, June 16, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Clearly these people (1 & 2) have no other friends for a reason….

    It is all very well for HP to help them out, but it doesn’t sound like they are gonna be there when he needs a favour. It pisses me off that some people go through life just taking & taking… ok , i am gonna start ranting now!

    At least it is only person #2’s stuff (not person #2) that is in your house…

  7. 7 deirdre Thursday, June 19, 2008 at 7:53 am

    haha I just typed out a whole comment and accidentally deleted it. I guess that’s karma telling me not to post it!

    I would be miffed too. It’s one thing to give someone who is down on their luck a leg up, but drug users aren’t down on their luck.

    I’d be super careful with person #2’s belongings. If anything turns up missing or broken, I wouldn’t be surprised if s/he pitched a fit with you guys. These people sound emotionally out of control.

    Good luck.

  8. 8 Cate Thursday, June 19, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Are you ok? How’d it turn out in the end?

  9. 9 drewzel Monday, June 23, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    Ta peeps…
    Bit of an update, Person 1 has gone MIA, so don’t know what she’s doing or who or where she is. Person 2 is more stable, but I think still hanging onto the idea that he’ll get back together with Person 1. He cleared some of his gear out of HP’s car, but still has nowhere permanent to live yet. So HP is still in touch with Person 2, but trying to stay out of it as much as he can.
    I’m just sitting and keeping an eye on things.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,120 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


