Oooh! (and a bit of envy)

First off, this post is a bit tongue-in-cheek…but a bit honest too…

When I saw this on Flickr, I said "Oooooooooooooooooooooh!!! How gorgeous", but then I shame myself to admit, I had that sinking feeling of self-doubt and insecurity that I sometimes get when I’m faced with supreme greatness in the craft area. That is, your mind starts to think "hey I wanted to do something using stitching and drawing, but why should I bother now, it’ll never be as good as this" and the evil little doubts start to chew at your mind, running around in circles and nibbling at your self-esteem like my pal Rattus.

In all seriousness, this is superb and totally inspiring, I love it. Mmmm.

Friends Another one I love, called "friends".

5 Responses to “Oooh! (and a bit of envy)”


  1. 1 deirdre Thursday, June 19, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Those are great and I know exactly what you mean. Sometimes I am overwhelmed by other’s peoples creativity. But I just tell myself 1) I don’t know how they got there, and 2) I’m still developing as an artist.

    Funny, I just commented on another blog that the book The Artist’s Way is excellent for helping us learn to accept and develop our creative self. This is the second blog that makes me want to write that commet. Maybe I should go home and start rereading my copy!

  2. 2 Kirsty Thursday, June 19, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    ….because having a crack is what it’s all about & because creativity keeps your heart topped up.

  3. 3 BigCat Saturday, June 21, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    They are really lovely. It is hard sometimes when you see other people’s work. They seem to be so much further along in their journey than I am and I wonder if I will ever discover a real style when I seem to jump from one idea to another every minute.

  4. 4 jane Sunday, June 22, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    yes to all the above, you’re in good company:self doubt seems to go with the creative territory. I like your honesty, honestly!

  5. 5 drewzel Monday, June 23, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Thanks lovely chicks, I appreciate knowing that I’m not alone in my “moments”.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


