Twisting by the pool


surf, originally uploaded by drewzel.

Or maybe knitting by the pool. Tomorrow the Knitting Knazi and I are off to Airlie Beach for a week…I plan on doing as little as possible really. I do need a break, I seem to be rather overwhelmed and doing dumb things – such as thinking the Kuties Pastie Day was in July, not June (and then not showing up. D’oh!) And the last half of the previous week was taken up with a very boring, rather shallow course on Communication, so I’m a bit clapped out. Back next week with more ‘This is’ and ‘Thingy Thursdays’.
Happy days, peeps.

PS. Have fun at Brown Owls tonight!

Oh, and an update:

Mousetrap2

Still waging war on the Rattus family in my house.  Last Wednesday HP trapped a couple in the humane tunnel trap thingy and put them in the old fishtank on the front porch to show me when I got home.  I laughed when he told me this earlier in the day on the ‘phone, because I know mice can climb and stretch and squeeze their way out of almost anything.  So when I got home I said to him "I can’t see your Rattus friends, think they’ve climbed out"…he couldn’t believe they could climb up glass walls and out between tiny cracks…and straight back inside I’m guessing. 

Yesterday Old Man Gatsby cat was found crunching up a wee Rattus on the kitchen floor, not sure if he caught it, but he ate it, and then HP caught and killed another one by being quick of reflex and swift of hand (Piddy scoffed it.)  Drew tried to do her bit on Saturday night by bringing in a LIVE mouse from the backyard at 2.30am, but the dogs chased her and the mouse back out again.  So I’m all for the super humane mouse trap, but I’m thinking that Rattus has got a lot of family living there and we have to transport them to Timbuktu to stop them coming straight back "home".

[By the way the image is from the Humane Mouse Trap’s page.  Ours is exactly like this, and works fabulously.  You put some bait (Rattus and friends like peanut butter) in the end with the yellow cap on it, and the mouse goes in the trap door, and his weight as he moves to the other end causes the door to slam shut as he goes the snack.  Then you take mousie somewhere else and let him go.  Or if you want to kill him, do it quickly rather than leaving him in one of those torturous spring traps.] 

5 Responses to “Twisting by the pool”


  1. 1 CurlyPops Monday, June 23, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    I hope you have a lovely relaxing holiday and that rattus doesn’t move in and take over while you’re gone!

  2. 2 Jess at button beauty Wednesday, June 25, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    That mousey trap looks like a great solution. What is it about rattus and peanut butter? Have a ball rejuvenating at Airlie – hope you have a great time.

  3. 3 Hannah Thursday, June 26, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Have a lovely break!
    We have used the humane trap – it’s good. Handy hint before you go away – don’t leave the trap about, filled with something delicious, or Rattus may venture in, only to get stuck, where it will stay stuck, slowly starving, until you get home… (not so humane)… we made this mistake once and it was just awful.
    Enjoy Airlie Beach!

  4. 4 Nikki Thursday, June 26, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    We had a ratty family (and their friends) move in when I was living in Ireland. The humane traps didn’t work for us…. there were way too many family-members in that little family. My not-so-humane partner ended up using methods that were not-so-humane but infinitely more effective… until one poor critter died under my sewing room, and we had no way of removing it. Couldn’t use the room for six months until the smell went away!!! Kharma, perhaps…?

  5. 5 Helen Monday, June 30, 2008 at 9:10 am

    I’m such a dork I was wondering why you’d been quiet lately then found out I hadn’t changed my feed to your new blog! Duh! Anyway, glad to be reading you again :)


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


