Meme: 7 songs right now

Mixwit

Having been tagged over at August Street, here’s 7 songs on my playlist at the moment:

  • 1. Back o’ the Moon – 10000 Maniacs (I couldn’t find that on Mixwit, so I put on Trouble Me instead, which is a lovely song). Currently singing along to their album ‘The Wishing Chair’ in my car.
  • 2. Saint John – Cold War Kids. The ‘Robbers and Cowards’ album is on my i-pod.
  • 3. Let my love open the Door – Pete Townsend. Also on my i-pod, just ’cause I like it.
  • 4. Hospital Beds – Cold War Kids. See #2. "put out the fire boys, don’t stop, don’t stop…"
  • 5. Valerie – Amy Winehouse. Amy was on that Nelson Mandela concert last week…one of the few performers there that I was actually interested in watching.
  • 6. Bananas and Blow – Ween. ‘White Pepper’ was in my car before 10000 Maniacs, and this song is a nice tropical holiday number…which is good when your car dies at the traffic lights in the rain. (Sorry for the bad quality of this one, I could only find a live version.)
  • 7. The Mariner’s Revenge Song – The Decemberists. One you either love or hate I guess. This is on my i-pod and has been a favourite for months now, every time it pops up on the play list, I inwardly jump for joy.

What’s a meme without a tag? Everyone can do it, but specifically Curly Pops, Big Cat, Polka Dot Rabbit, Kootoyoo, Kitty’s Kaboodle, 62 Cherry and Ethel Loves Fred, give it a go please.

10 Responses to “Meme: 7 songs right now”


  1. 1 Cate Friday, July 4, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    once I work out how to do it, I’m there! xx

  2. 2 BigCat Friday, July 4, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    No worries. I’m up for it. A weekend project me thinks.

  3. 3 ethel loves fred Saturday, July 5, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Love Amy Winehouse – amazing songwriter and performer. I find myself defending her all the time, one pre-school Mum was shocked that Parker and I listen to her in the car! I told her that we can appreciate the music, without knowing too much about her private life, cause it’s not about that, it’s the music! And genius is not medicore, else she’s be married with kids, and doing the ironing right now! Bet said PS Mum doens’t have a problem with Britteny though!

  4. 4 Jenaveve Saturday, July 5, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Nice selection … me love Amy Winehouse too.

    Something here’s really stunned me – I had no idea that THAT was 10000 Maniacs, I’ve heard them so often and always loved them, but no idea who they were. Now I know who they are! Ta.

    Thanx for playing. I knew you’d like a music meme. I really should have a crack at making a mixtape one of these days. It’s sheer brilliance.

  5. 5 Kirsty Sunday, July 6, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Thanks for the tag Steph. I’ll have to chat to the date…after the hols OK?

  6. 7 Drewzel Monday, July 7, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Thanks guys, can’t wait to see what you list!

  7. 8 BigCat Thursday, July 10, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Finally got around to making some music for you over at my blog. I like your choices too by the way. Love 10,000 maniacs and Ween especially.

  8. 9 Hollie Thursday, July 10, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    I love love LOVE cold war kids and ween. You rock steph!

  9. 10 Anastasia Thursday, July 10, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Amy Winehouse has an amazing voice and talent…wish she wasnt wasting herself away…


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,108 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


