It’s a long bow to draw (TdF KAL post #3)

model with bicycle

My project – cardigan in vintage hues wool.  After reading the "intermediate sprint" challenge on the blog this morning, I’m going with the "knitting option".  I was trying to decide why I chose this particular wool for my KAL project…and a suggestion from my friend Nat hit the nail on the head…the wool colours are the "sunset over the French alps":


Mont Vial, originally uploaded by jpmiss.

Comment superbe! La meilleure chose à faire! But of course!  My cardi is going to be a stylish yet snugly warm number that complements the sunsets when you’re up in the mountains, so that my ensemble will match the background scenery.  Oh la la!  And I might even make a chapeau if the time factor allows.  Pierre and I can sip our cognac together and watch the sun go down, and then get up the next morning and watch the cyclists whizzing by (or not…sleeping in and then having bowls of hot chocolate and croissants sounds much better.  And of course, we know that Pierre will be charming, devilishly handsome and utterly irrestible. Actually I think he might be Johnny Depp’s twin brother.  Bicyclettes?  What bicyclettes?)  Pierre will look at me and say:

Drewzel, ma petite fleur, votre tricot est exquis! Vous êtes belle et talentueuse!

Now I’ve seen those nifty leggie thingys that the model is wearing, a) I’m wondering what they’re called and b) if I should knit some of these, or some ankle warmers (aka socks without feet) in a similar vein?

The image is from Vogue, August 1940…and in reading the caption to the photo, I just answered my own question – "the model is wearing two-piece Tyrolian socks". A quick Google gave me this.  But two piece socks?  ???

PS.  apologies for the bad "franglais" and stereotypes, it’s meant to be silly.

And here’s "our team" going for a spin! Go boys!

Our_team
Check out some of my knitting team mates’ blogs, including Pam, Kathy, another Steph, Gemma, and our captain Shirley, for more Tour de France knitty-ness.
0 Responses to “It’s a long bow to draw (TdF KAL post #3)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,120 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


