Vintage thingy Thursday – dressed up in jeans


dressed up in jeans, originally uploaded by drewzel.

Lest you think I spend all my time in the 1940’s, here’s a rather groovy ad from Dolly magazine, circa 1973. The happy couple are stylin’, while the rest of the people look like rejects from a British sitcom! Shame I didn’t have this mag when I was planning my wedding, I could just see HP and I in matching Amco Dress-Up jeans…although the fact that I have wee stumpy legs might have had something to do with choosing a long dress.

Anyway, you can either feel regret that these days are past us, or relief that men don’t get about in purple flared jeans with a crease ironed down the front. Your choice.

For more Vintage thingys…check out this link.

13 Responses to “Vintage thingy Thursday – dressed up in jeans”


  1. 1 Amy Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    ROFL LMAO! I love those purple bell bottoms! Cool! I remember my dad having trousers like that but they were kind of light brown ish.

  2. 2 CurlyPops Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I want a pair of those jeans, purple or floral, I don’t mind, I just want them

  3. 3 Jenaveve Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    OMG… actually, you know I think he looks better in the bright flares than she does in her florally wallpaper ones.

  4. 4 stephanie Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Love the jeans! My dad had American flag printed flares. Wish I could have seen him in those, but any picture he did have, has probably been burned!

  5. 5 Lidian Friday, July 18, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Oh, I LOVE this ad!! Brilliant stuff…and I love the tagline, so corny! Is that Hyacinth Bucket there at the back?!

  6. 6 Lidian Friday, July 18, 2008 at 1:20 am

    By the way, my Vintage Thingie is at my other blog

    http://kitchenretro.wordpress.com

  7. 7 Stephanie Friday, July 18, 2008 at 2:50 am

    So funny! Love that ad! I had some groovy jeans that were red, white, and blue striped. Yea baby! Oh, and I don’t mind you being in the 40s, that’s one of my favorite vintage decades, too ;-)

  8. 8 Elizabeth Friday, July 18, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Great advertisement! I like the khaki floral jeans; I’d wear them today!

  9. 9 Kristine Friday, July 18, 2008 at 8:27 am

    what a funny ad! Love it!!

    Kristine@
    Kitsch n sink studio

  10. 10 threeundertwo Friday, July 18, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Hysterical. I thought for a moment he had a headband, but I guess it’s just a lock of hair across his forehead? Hard to tell. The tuxedo ruffled shirt makes his outfit complete. I actually think he could pull off that pink hat, he’s so totally macho.

  11. 11 The Apron Queen Friday, July 18, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Do you mean to tell me that my pants like that are outdated? Dang. I’m gonna have to stop wearing them. :)

    For your daily dose of vintage goodness a bit of silliness, stop by Confessions of an Apron Queen: http://anapronaday.blogspot.com

  12. 12 Bec Friday, July 18, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Hhhhmmmm, I think I’m gonna go with feeling glad that I don’t have to see my husband in a pair of purple creased pants….eeeewwww :P

  13. 13 Nikki Saturday, July 19, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    Too cute!! We have a particular day of family photos – in 1974 – when my older brothers and sisters looked just like this. What a hoot.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,176 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


