Vintage thingy Thursday

My vintage thingies today are brand spankin’ new purchases for me, I got them at the op-shop yesterday.  The first was a bundle of sheet music albums.  I love these, we actually have a lot of old sheet music and similar albums that were handed down from HP’s Nanna, so I was very pleased to find these ones for the collection.  One of the good things about sheet music is that it almost always has the date it was published or copyrighted on it, so you can have no doubts about its vintage.

Piano_folios

The Centenary folio is not dated, Radio is 1915, Empire is 1939, Jubilee is 1924, and Coronation is 1936.  I’m not sure if the titles are historically accurate …Coronation (George V) and Empire (wartime) seem about right, but I’m not sure about the Centenary – of what? and whose Jubilee the title refers to.  Anyway, they’re all rather charming (albeit a bit musty) and I’m sure Marjorie Cavedon (nee Taylor) would be pleased to know I treasure them as much as she did.

One of my other finds yesterday, which I’ll throw in for good measure as it follows on from this post, are more vintage stockings.

These ones are fab, and called Kolotex "Clings", 2 way stretch nylon, colour "Flame".  (Which is an odd name because they look a most pedestrian dark tan colour.) The box proclaims that they are "also ADJUSTABLE for mini-skirts" and made out of "FANTASTIC! TRIKOLON-the wonder yarn!"

Vintage_stockings

The inside label says that Clings are the "the little ugly duckling that stretches and grows into a sheer beauty!" (Don’t be stretching my ducklings Kolotex, I won’t be happy.)  But for the wonderful Doris Day-ness of the packaging – pink! daisies! a poodle! – I *heart* them.  Given they are 2 separate stockings that you need a suspender belt to wear, I’m not sure how you adjust them to fit under your mini skirt…or is "mini" the skirt length of the pink skirt pictured?  I had visions of bottom skimming skirts-a-go-go, and I’m sure there’s no way you could wear a suspender belt with them.  Anyway, this is all academic, as I’m definitely a sensible knee-length sort of gal.

More Thursday Thingys of a vintage nature via here.

6 Responses to “Vintage thingy Thursday”


  1. 1 Elizabeth Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    These are interesting finds, but I would love to know what you DO with them? Do you display the boxes & items? Sell them? Wear them?
    I hope you’ll stop in for my Beach Party tomorrow!

  2. 2 Christie Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    he, he … & a poodle wearing a daisy chain no less!

  3. 3 Stephanie Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    How funny, games I almost posted (someone else did) and music books I almost posted! Vintage is in the air, I swear.

    You crack me up with the nylons. I love the packaging but the nylons themselves were as strangling to me as they were to my legs LOL!

  4. 4 The Apron Queen Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Thank goodness I don’t have a job that requires nylons. By the way, that blue typewriter- it looks like one my Mom had when I was a kid. I played on that thing for hours. She’d get mad becasue I’d use up all the ink. My kids saw one a little while back & I had to explain to them what it was! :)

    Thanks for sharing.

  5. 5 Lidian Friday, July 25, 2008 at 2:29 am

    Those are brilliant finds!

  6. 6 Drewzel Friday, July 25, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Thanks all.

    Elizabeth, the music is for playing, and the nylons I won’t wear but have them (box and all) sitting in my bedroom on my dressing table for display really…I’ve got a few hats and bits and bobs there.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,120 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


