Wandering…

…past Sportsgirl today, and was pleased by their window display.  I don’t shop there, mostly because their sizing doesn’t agree with me, but right now, they have decided that all things floral, "peasanty hippy" and pretty are in for summer. I have two or three vintage silk crocheted cardis (a la Winona Ryder in Reality Bites: "I think I´m gotta go change… Michael: No don´t, you look beautiful. You look like…you look like… Troy: a doily.")  And there’s some lovely little crocheted vest numbers.  Here’s one of Sportsgirl’s lovely tops, I’d love to own something similar:

Sportsgirl_top

So you happy hookers, be amazed at the fashion forethought of the Drewzel*, who posted this pattern on Stitchybritches last week for you to whip up. And you’ll have a vintage 50’s style "shoulderette" in no time!

* not sure why I’m talking about myself in the third person.  Delusions of grandeur I guess.

5 Responses to “Wandering…”


  1. 1 CurlyPops Monday, August 4, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    You’re allowed to talk in the third person because now that you’re published, you’re famous!
    That top is gorgeous (and Sportsgirl is not a shop that I ever bother walking into either). I wonder if being able to crochet a granny square means that I could crochet that lovely shoulderette…..

  2. 2 Jesska Monday, August 4, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Oooh I am such a sucker for crochet clothing… and Reality Bites! Great post! Me & my credit card may have to visit Sportsgirl soon (it’s been a while).

  3. 3 Melanie Monday, August 4, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Love the Sportsgirl one. I borrowed ‘Plus Size Crochet’ from the library last week, but was sorely disappointed – there is maybe *one* pattern I would consider making. :(

  4. 4 Hokey Monday, August 4, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    I actually went in to sportsgirl in bourke st last week! I was drawn in by their huge floral patchwork wall hanging thingo near the front door, and was really excited by all the pretty floral fabrics they were using for their displays. I even got a bit sad to find that my camera wasn’t hiding in the bottom of my bag like I thought it was, I wanted to proove to the world (well mostly just Mike) that I’m not the only one out there that loves as many floral patterns mixed up together as possible!

  5. 5 justine Tuesday, August 5, 2008 at 8:27 am

    that whole post totally made me laugh laugh laugh xx


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,108 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


