I’ve got the 21st century breathing down my neck

Today’s thingys say "picnic time!" to me.  Both of them came from my aforementioned visit to Savers this morning, so they are fresh outta the thrift shop!  The fabric is about 2 metres worth and I’m guessing it’s from the 60’s/70’s with a selvedge marked "designs exclusive by Caesar Fabrics, Australia".  A Googling showed me that Caesar Fabrics are now a fabric importer in Marrickville NSW, so I’m thinking this fabric was made for them back when things were still made in Australia.  If anyone has a better idea of the fabric’s era, I’d love to know.

selvedge

The other item definitely is a picnic one : a set of anodised drinking cups in a leather holder. Another thing proudly marked Made in Australia ("Carribean beakers"). This is dear to my heart as my family had a similar set of cups during my childhood, and HP’s parents still keep a set (except theirs are just plain silver aluminum) in the glovebox of their car.  They’re a bit well loved, but they’ll proudly live in the glovebox of our station wagon (which used to belong to HP’s parents and was the home of their set) …so I think that’ll make the car happy. 

beakers and fabric

Further Thursday Thingys  here.

4 Responses to “I’ve got the 21st century breathing down my neck”


  1. 1 Claire Falkingham Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Oh I must speak frankly Mr Shankley!! I was just about to call a post ‘If you’ve got 5 minutes to spare, I’ll tell you the story of my life’!!

  2. 2 CurlyPops Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Love the op-shop finds…the beakers are fantastic!

  3. 3 Lara Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Oh my gosh those anodised beakers – yes!!! Such strong associations with my childhood too – we had the coloured ones in a leather holder in the glovebox of our old Nimbus. I’m sure they’re sitting in my folks car somewhere right now too :)

    Ahh memories :)

  4. 4 The Apron Queen Friday, August 8, 2008 at 8:06 am

    The fabric would make pretty aprons! :)


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,108 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


