Shyness is nice, and shyness can stop you

Everyone that knows me probably realises that I’m a bit excitable (except maybe good buddy Nat, who would probably say I’m placid to a fault).  But anyway, a lunchtime visit to Savers found me accosting a poor girl because she had a groovy apron on which I admired.  And a groovy handbag.  She told me that she’d made both herself.  We were scoping out the recycled crafty supplies…so the next obvious question was "do you blog?" (Answer was no) Anyway, we had a bit of chat, with me asking, do you Etsy? what blogs do you read? Are you on Facebook?  I told her my blog name, discussed Meet me at Mikes and Angry Chicken…and was hopelessly unprepared without a pen or cards.  This also got me thinking about how teh intertubes has changed the way we interact with each other – is it a change for the better?  Would I have "connected" so quickly with a stranger without these frames of cultural reference to discuss?  I think about how many nice people I’ve met as a result of blogging, swaps, Flickr and the like, and I’m sure Tim Burners-Lee is pleased with how it’s evolved into a tool for communicating with others in the jiffiest of jiffies. (I know I am.) Once again, science saves the day.  Hurrah!*

So my new Frankytown crafty friend-to-be, I hope you find my blog, don’t think I’m too insane and drop me an email or a comment.  I’d love to catch up and talk op-shopping and aprons!

* too much watching of the Discovery Science channel for me, I’m afraid!

PS. You can blame this girl for the post title.  I think she’s got Mozza into our heads.

8 Responses to “Shyness is nice, and shyness can stop you”


  1. 1 CurlyPops Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    That’s such a great story….you need to get yourself some bloggy business cards with all your info so you can hand then to crafty friends to be. It’s amazing who you can meet at the op shop!

  2. 2 Claire Falkingham Saturday, August 9, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    I love that story, and I’m slightly envious, cause I never seem to meet anyone as nutty as me!

  3. 3 rach Sunday, August 10, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    hey steph…its me the “poor” girl you met with the groovy bag and apron!!!!!

    her it is a comment as promised!!!
    It was just fab to meet another who loves the whole crafty thing.

  4. 4 drewzel Sunday, August 10, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Hey Rach! yay! email me at podbobbins (at) gmail (dot) com. if you wanna catch up :D

  5. 5 Michelle Sunday, August 10, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    “from doing all the things in life you’d like to”!

    What a great encounter! I’ve taken to bringing my Moo cards with me everywhere I go – you never know who you might meet (in my case, a potentoial customer, but you know what I mean!)

  6. 6 drewzel Sunday, August 10, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    All these Smiths lyrics are your fault, you know that!

  7. 7 CurlyPops Monday, August 11, 2008 at 7:59 am

    How cool….you found each other again!

  8. 8 Stella Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 4:29 am

    That was so nice of you. I admire your conversational skills especially with strangers. I haven’t blessed with much of that skills.lol I’m not just good as you at conversations especially with strangers.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,176 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


