Park the car at the side of the road

And take a picture of our house, Mr Google Maps.  As Google is my homepage, I noticed on Wednesday night that they had updated their maps to "street level", so of course I had to go have a look at the Portionvilla, in all it’s junkyard glory.  But what really made me laugh is that they had driven past just as HP was wandering around on the nature strip, and took what is possibly the most unflattering pic of him to date – he looks like he has no legs and a huge pot belly.

Here you go, only the names have been changed to protect the innocent:

Portionvilla_for_blog

And for a prettier pic, here’s the parental homestead:

Parentals_for_blog

[Dad has a nice rose garden]

While I’m fascinated to be able to take a virtual "drive" around suburban and city streets, I also find it somewhat disturbing as it seems so insidious. 

Last night when I got home from work, my next door neighbour said to me "Stephanie! Have you seen Google maps?"  and she was all excited.  I said, yep, I know there’s a picture of HP on there.  And we had a good laugh.  I’m not sure I would be laughing though if it was a pic of my bargearse out there doing the gardening.  Hmm.

2 Responses to “Park the car at the side of the road”


  1. 1 CurlyPops Friday, August 8, 2008 at 11:30 am

    The whole thing just freaks me out. I actually value my privacy and that includes where I live. The only positive thing is that our house has a bif 6 foot high fence and new front windows now, so the google picture looks nothing like what my house now looks like. Our google picture has the fencing materials sitting on the front lawn so it must have been taken in November last year.

    Do you think it’s weird that they didn’t even bother to wait until HP was out of shot before they took the photo. He was obviously on his way to somewhere!

  2. 2 Steph Friday, August 8, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Thats cute that HP is on Google but its also kind of creepy, you’d think they could wait til people are out of shot. I’m sure if NZ ever gets street view I’ll be trolling it 24/7 like a junkie but at the same time I do value my privacy to prefer not to be on it.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


