Vintage thingy Thursday…don’t blow too hard


embroidered hankies2, originally uploaded by drewzel.

…lest you foul these gorgeous hankies. Remember the days when a box of beautifully stitched hankies was an acceptable pressie? Usually you got them from your Nanna as a birthday pressie when you were a kid, which didn’t excite you, because you really wanted Play-Doh. So you put them away in your drawer "for good occasions"…and there they stayed.

I found this set in the op shop, and obviously the owner thought the same as me about saving your best hankies for "best"…which as we know, never comes around. But it meant they stayed perfectly preserved for me to find years later.

What do you think, vintage loving peeps, are a set of hand embroidered hankies still an acceptable pressie in this 21st century world? Or would they seem old fashioned and stingy compared to the expected pressies of i-pods and gift vouchers? Any thoughts?

Home of Vintage thingy Thursdays here.

6 Responses to “Vintage thingy Thursday…don’t blow too hard”


  1. 1 Grandma J Friday, August 22, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I love your hand embroidered handkerchiefs! I haven’t seen anything like that in decades. My grandmother never believed in tissues, just cloth hankies. Thanks for sharing

  2. 2 Curlypops Friday, August 22, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    I’d love an embroidered hanky as a pressie…I wouldn’t actually blow my nose on it though.

  3. 3 Holly Friday, August 22, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    I think vintage hankies would be PERFECT for a crafter or a lover of vintage things. Not for people who like ipods, etc. I try to buy/make handmade for ALL my presents but no matter how hard you try, there are always some people who that doesn’t work for – like my brother who’s only interested in computer stuff or video games. But I think vintage hankies would work for the right person for sure!

  4. 4 coloradolady Friday, August 22, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    I love the embroidered hankies. I remember my mom had some of these. These are very cute. I love that they are still in the box. Great find.

  5. 5 Patty Saturday, August 23, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I would love to get these as a gift but then I collect hankies. I catually have some like this that I think my mom originally received as a present. They might be a good present for someone who was trying to go green. This way they wouldn’t be using a tissue once and tossing it out.

  6. 6 Stacey Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    As a collector of embroidered hankies, I would think it a most perfect and lovely present!


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,120 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


