Vintage thingy Thursday – cannister of love

Today’s vintage Thursday thingy is Cannisters! I love cannisters, and the more I can find for my kitchen, the better. These two are among my favourites, and I think they actually came from e-bay back when I used to bother with it.

I’m not sure of their era, maybe someone could help?

Another favourite set I have are some that my mother found at a garage sale for me years and years ago, not because they were vintage but because she thought they were a good useful set of cannisters. (I do have the orange “coffee” cannister that goes with the set. And yes that’s our 1970’s orange Laminex benchtop that we haven’t replaced yet.)

And this one is another fave, a recent op-shop find:

Home of vintage thingy Thursdays here. Go lookee!

19 Responses to “Vintage thingy Thursday – cannister of love”


  1. 1 The Apron Queen Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 11:08 am

    You can never have too many kitchen containers! :)

  2. 2 Jewelgirl Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 11:38 am

    These canisters are cool. The colored ones are my
    favorite!

  3. 3 Elizabeth Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    I love the colored set, also! I don’t have any canisters of any age or size.

  4. 4 Amy Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    oh I absolutely adore your containers! Hey I thought you were at typepad….did you move? I moved from wordpress to blogger because I like fidding with the colours and layout etc :-)

  5. 5 drewzel Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Hi Amy, I am at typepad really – I switched from here a few months back as the photo uploader wasn’t working, but I’ve been playing with WordPress again this morning, and it seems to be working.
    I think if Blogger would let us make “pages” as well as our main blog, I’d go back there permanently. :P

  6. 7 Patty Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    I love your canisters, especially the colored ones.

  7. 8 Carrie Oak Rise Cottage Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    I’m one that uses canisters in my kitchen too. Your collection is very nice.

  8. 9 Grandma J Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    those colorful cannisters look like they are from the 50s. Very nice.

  9. 10 Suzanne Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Oh, I love the Coffee one. I like old canisters too, especially ones around the 50’s. Very cute.

  10. 11 Judy Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    O, I love your collection! These remind me of some I’ve stuck high on a shelf and forgotten.

  11. 12 marybt Friday, August 29, 2008 at 12:06 am

    I have looked high and low for old canisters. My mom can always find them, but I come up short. Sigh. I really like yours. Especially the circa 1970s set.

  12. 13 Lidian Friday, August 29, 2008 at 12:57 am

    Those canisters are great! I want to find some too, I think thy look so cool on a kitchen counter!

  13. 14 Sonja Friday, August 29, 2008 at 3:55 am

    I love the tin ones. I wish my counter was bigger!

  14. 15 Stephanie Friday, August 29, 2008 at 10:56 am

    I love the colorful set, very cool!

  15. 16 Kylie Friday, August 29, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    your multi-coloured cannisters are great – lucky to have all the lettering intact, that’s usually missing these days :)

    don’t be in too much of a hurry to get rid of your orange laminex either, I’ve seen a lot of “chocolate” (read: mission brown!) and “jaffa” (dah, orange) colour schemes popping up in design mags of late! even Tupperware is getting in on it again!

    Hope to see you at the next Mornington Peninsula & Bayside knitting meet up – check the boards for details…

  16. 17 Stephanie Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 5:30 am

    Love the squares! The coffee one looks familiar but I couldn’t say why LOL!

  17. 18 Pamela Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Your canisters are wonderful, I really like the second set. Thanks for sharing them.

  18. 19 Dawn Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Oh no! Now I want to collect cannisters! love the multi colored ones!


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,176 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


