This is…my favourite band

I don’t have a favourite band now…I have lots and lots! So like Curlypops and August street, I’m looking backwards… When I was a primary school kid I was obsessed with the Beatles, and then through my teens moved onto the Smiths.

Smiths

The first time I remember hearing the Smiths was about 83, on Radio2SM’s Sunday night show, in all it’s crackly glory, going straight to a bedroom in Creswick.  [My sister and I had read all about Morrissey in the English pop magazine ‘Smash Hits’ – the bedroom walls were covered with her Duran Duran cutouts from that same mag] Then I remember seeing the vid for "How Soon is Now?" on Rock Arena a couple of years later.  The lyric "There’s a club if you’d like to go/you could meet somebody who really loves you/So you go and stand on your own/and you leave on your own/And you go home/and you cry and you want to die" appealed to the teenage me sooo much. 

Hatful Queen_is_dead
My sis was the Smiths fan really, and when she moved out in about ’86, she’d bring home Smiths LPs and I’d tape ’em.  My fave to this day is ‘Hatful of Hollow’ closesly followed by ‘The Queen is Dead’.   In HSC English Lit when we had to do an essay on song lyrics as poetry, my cool friend Kath did the Triffids, whereas I focused on the Smiths’ ‘There is a Light that Never Goes Out.’ By my early 20’s I’d become slightly embarrassed of my love for the Smiths’,  and who can forget local band Mr Floppy’s ‘100000 Morrisseys’? (Well probably quite easily really – "what shall we do/what shall we do/when one hundred thousand Morrisseys come marching over the hill?") Now with the hindsight of the years, the songs stand up well.  And I still love them.  Thanks Moz.  Now that I think seriously about it, it probably wasn’t just teenage angst at all, I was chronically depressed, even back then. *sigh*

In year 11 I moved on to obsessing about the Wreckery…but that’s another story…

Mixwit

This is…hosted by Three Buttons and handmaiden while Angela is away.  And thanks to Cam for the grouse theme!

8 Responses to “This is…my favourite band”


  1. 1 Curlypops Monday, September 8, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    I didn’t find out about The Smiths until the 1990’s (a little late by then).
    I thought I was so cool for liking them…

  2. 2 drewzel Monday, September 8, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Ah Cam you’re always cool!

  3. 3 Jenaveve Monday, September 8, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Nice one Drewzel!

    Funny, I didn’t get into the Smiths so much after I heard an interview with Robert Smith dissing Moz. My, I was easily influenced back then! Shame, I must’ve missed some rockin’ stuff, looking at that lyric you have there.

  4. 4 Amy Tuesday, September 9, 2008 at 7:41 am

    oh my goodness I remember the smiths! I was a teenager in the early to mid 80’s. I was more into the new wave stuff like echo and the bunnymen, duran duran, kajagoogoo, abc etc. oh I cringe at my music choices back then.

  5. 5 Claire Falkingham Tuesday, September 9, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I’ve always loved them too, there was just something about the Morrisey/Marr combination. I always have a Smiths lyric in my head at some point through the day! As I write this: “and if a ten tonne truck, smashes into us, to dye by your side, oh, the pleasure, the priveledge is mine”

  6. 6 Katie Wednesday, September 10, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I didn’t find out about the Smiths til the mid-90s either. They and Depeche Mode got me through the end of high school and first year uni.
    (I was a late bloomer, OK?)
    How Soon Is Now is still one of my favourite songs. Some of the lyrics strike me as a bit pouty now, but that guitar riff is just mesmerising.

  7. 7 Bellgirl Monday, September 15, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Ah the Smiths. I too was a late adopter, but I’m humming along quietly in my head. Have you soon the series “Blackpool”? There’s a great scene with David tennant leading some kind of slow motion Bossa Nova street dance while singn along to ‘The Boy with the Thorn in his Side’. Ah, David Tennant. Now, in _his_ case I was an early adopter, way back at ‘Takin’ Over the Asylum’, and now all these Doctor Who floozies think they can steal him away from me! Aargh!

    Oops sorry went a but mad. better get back to the Ph.D.

  8. 8 Kim Tuesday, September 16, 2008 at 3:22 am

    I always loved the Smiths, but 5 years ago I met my husband and now I LOVE them. He is the ultimate Smiths fan (for an American) and we see Moz every chance we get. We even played “There is a Light” at during our wedding! They are the greatest.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,168 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


