Vintage thingy Thursday – more advertising

From the Ladies Home Journal, 1944:
[click pic to see in real size]
Part of me wants to be the “Fresh” girl, look at her perfect hair, pretty blouse and lovely dressing table. The next picture, of a real life container of Fresh is from Karen’s photostream (she has the best stuff!).

I wonder, will people in 50 years time look back at the pakaging of our everyday objects with fondness and longing, like we do with vintage thingys now? Is it a matter of nostalgia or taste? Can anyone explain the appeal? All I know is that I love anything from about 1920 – 1955.

Vintage Thingys via the Apron Queen. Check it out!

13 Responses to “Vintage thingy Thursday – more advertising”


  1. 1 airhairlair Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    I’ve been called fresh, but not in a good way!

  2. 2 marianedwardsdreamweaver Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    What fun…I love those vintage magazines and the ads are adorable :)

  3. 3 Diane Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Cute pale blue vintage thingies!

  4. 4 char72 Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    How interesting. I guess Fresh was a little before my time. I was around then but too young to use stuff like that. The main thing I remember in the line of face products was Ponds cold cream. It is funny how we enjoy vintage stuff. I think the more vintage one becomes the more they appreciate it. I have found that to be true.

  5. 5 Jewelgirl Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    There was not a lot of vintage
    things in my home when I grew up,
    but my early exposure to an auction
    and a major big city antique show really made me interested in vintage things. Love the old magazines, nothing shows life as it was like print ads!

  6. 6 Amy Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    That’s a neat ad – I love vintage magazines. I wonder why people these days sometimes don’t look after themselves like women use to back then?

  7. 7 Coloradolady Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    I don’t think anything today will hold the appeal of vintage today. Cute post and love the magazine ad.

  8. 8 Fiona Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Such a cute ad! I have a little pot of some nail cream my gran left, and it definitely has more appeal to me than anything I could buy today! For one thing the quality was often so much better – less plastic I guess.

  9. 9 mub Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    I think that things were made to last and be treasured, and that effort isn’t put into things that are made now. So I don’t think that stuff from this current time will hold the appeal of stuff from the early 1900s!

  10. 10 Levin (and Emily) Friday, October 31, 2008 at 7:06 am

    I often wonder about that – when I buy thing in containers or tins these days I tend to recycle them as they are so unattractive – unlike the old days. Then one day I thought I should perhaps hold onto them – someone might love them in the future.
    l
    x

  11. 12 Kellie Friday, October 31, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Wouldn’t you like to step back into those days just for little while? I know I would! Thanks for sharing these great vintage thingies!

  12. 13 Hoppo Bumpo Saturday, November 1, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    My inner-Avon lady is admiring that nice bit of vintage Avon too. Sigh …


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,176 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


