Vintage thingy Thursday : a poultry offering

Poultry make me happy, I love chooks and ducks…well all birdies really. If you’re not at all interested in vintage chook loving, best look away now. So today’s Vintage Thursday Thingy is a copy of the Poultry Tribune magazine from 1934, that’s been kicking around my office at work. It’s not a very stimulating read, all dry stuff about raising the best chickens for your dollar, and given this was depression era America, I suppose that’s logical. Win money- $1500 in Cash! growing “those fluffy balls of down”… that would have been a pretty good prize at the time.


For example, the article on page six is titled “Chickens Pay!” and starts:
“I wanted to go to college and I wished to study music,” Lillian Becker, 21 year old Cass county, North Dakota, poultry and egg producer, said as she laid down her chicken house cleaning tools. That is the reason why I launched into the poultry and egg business…And here I am still in the business which has proven profitable the past two years in spite of ‘slow times’.”

Here’s Lillian (a girl after my own heart) cuddling one of her chickens:

I like the advertisements, they’re all rather charming…bring those eggs out! Make them pay! Actually it sounds rather painful really. Run little hen!
And of course to keep the lady of the house happy, there’s the requisite pattern service, a stern toned article on “Homemaking!” (this magazine! likes! exclamation! marks!) and even the odd bit o’ humour:
“Was your garden a success this year, Mr Wiggins?”

“I’ll say so! My neighbor’s chickens won three prizes at the State Fair.” Boom boom!


I’m a bit dubious about the “harmless fun” of this one…but just hope he doesn’t fire at the chickens!

More Vintage Thingy Thursdays of a less paltry nature here.

10 Responses to “Vintage thingy Thursday : a poultry offering”


  1. 1 Jewelgirl Thursday, November 6, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    I’ve never heard of this magazine!
    I don’t remember 1934 either Ha Ha! Love the fashions from 1934! Neat! I think baby chicks are cute too!

  2. 2 marianedwardsdreamweaver Thursday, November 6, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    i love the name ‘poultry tribune’ lol!!…and the picture on the front cover is ‘priceless’…love the fashion page too!! By the way did i say i love chooks too…i’m the lucky owner of six very happy ‘girls’:)

  3. 3 Chooks'r'us Thursday, November 6, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Damn, if only I could translate it for the girls into chooken then they might have some good instructions on how to make the eggs go….silly things, love brooding. I do love the patterns for the ladies and the guns for the sons…hmm. Great illustrations too – this is my favourite vintage thingy thursday I’ve seen today! A friend gave me an old booklet of her Dad’s that is similar – maybe I should post that to go with yours? Still at work…PS Love Snoopy!

  4. 4 Chooks'r'us Thursday, November 6, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Damn, if only I could translate it for the girls into chooken then they might have some good instructions on how to make the eggs go….silly things, love brooding. I do love the patterns for the ladies and the guns for the sons…hmm. Great illustrations too – this is my favourite vintage thingy thursday I’ve seen today! A friend gave me an old booklet of her Dad’s that is similar – maybe I should post that to go with yours? Still at work…PS Love Snoopy!

  5. 5 Magic Cochin Thursday, November 6, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I was sent along here by Chooks’r’us – seems like I’m among like minded girls! I love the mag – stylish chicken-keeper gear! must get out the trusty singer and run up a frock!

    Celia

  6. 6 Hoppo Bumpo Thursday, November 6, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Oh how I have enjoyed reading from the Poultry Tribune. Especially the bits about the shooter firing like a machine-gun and being wholesome fun.

  7. 7 Heather Thursday, November 6, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    I love old magazines! My great-grandma saved a rabbit recipe from an old farmer’s magazine that even told you the best way to catch a rabbit!

  8. 8 Elizabeth Friday, November 7, 2008 at 12:03 am

    An entire magazine about poultry?!!

  9. 9 grace Friday, November 7, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I love that! The illustrations are fantastic.

  10. 10 mannequin Friday, November 7, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Love the illustrations. Boy they don’t make ’em like they used to do they?
    Um.. not that I remember but still..


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,108 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


