This is…my favourite thing from nature.

One of my favourite things are birdies. Native birdies mainly, mostly parrots and honeyeaters, but I also love magpies, as any regular reader of the Portion may know. So it goes almost without saying that this is one of my favourite things from nature. This page describes the call as: “A loud musical flute-like song, often performed as a duet or by groups. An uncommon alternative name for the Australian Magpie is Flute Bird.”

Another favourite is the call of the Butcherbird, although I’m not as happy if hear them around as they like to menace the budgies. But still a lovely sound. As I’m a bird nerd I’m loving this list of birdcalls. Every day is a good day if I’ve heard some magpies (and birds in general) singing outside my window.

Theme this week by Cloth and Fodder, this is hosted by Three Buttons.

3 Responses to “This is…my favourite thing from nature.”


  1. 1 BigCat Monday, November 17, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I love birds too. Magpies especially. They are so cheeky and bossy and proud. Lovely birds.

  2. 2 Hoppo Bumpo Monday, November 17, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Do I qualify as a bird nerd too? I currently have a tome called Parrots of the world on my desk (I needed to look a rosella up yesterday!). And there’s more where that book came from. :)

    Love the picture your maggies – they are the most gorgeous and intelligent birds.

  3. 3 Sherrin Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    I love the call of the magpie. I think it would have to be my favourite ‘nature sound’.


Leave a Reply

blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 144,165 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!


