This is…

Angela’s kicked the ball to me this week, and suggested that I come up with the next theme for her “This is…” game.

So peeps, this week if you’re playing along, you have to share:

“This is…my demon.”

I’ve been thinking a bit about having a demon (metaphorically speaking), and the concept introduced by this crappy film (I haven’t read the book, so maybe it’s good) where:  “In Lyra’s world every person is accompanied by a daemon, a physical representation of their soul in animal form. ”  Have you got a monkey on your shoulder or a tiger in your chest? And in one of my favourite television shows, Dexter often speaks about having a “dark passenger.”  [Although I don’t think I’m going to take up serial killing any time soon.]

But I’m not expecting anyone to bear their soul, so show us what you consider to be your demon, whether it’s a packet of Peter Jacksons, a melting credit card, or your foot in your mouth.  Have you got a bad habit or a dark side?  Or just something that plagues you?  Anything that you consider a demon, or a representation of your inner self is fair game this week.  See how you go. 

all-about-me.jpg

Oh, I better do my own challenge, I suppose.  My main demon is this. Not everyone (in real life) knows I have it, not everyone understands it, and I don’t always manage it well.  All I know is that I’m into my fourth year on medication now, and I have good days and bad. Some days I can take on anything, other days I can’t tie my shoelaces. But you put up a front and try and keep it together so that the world doesn’t think you’re a freak, and besides, everyone has their crap they have to deal with. But it’s a demon I’d like to get rid of.

12 Responses to “This is…”


  1. 1 linnea Wednesday, March 19, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Thanks for picking this weeks “this is” Good topic. There are so many I could chose, I guess I have a week to think of one I am ready to share.
    I am with you on yours too, don’t feel alone.

  2. 2 cathy Wednesday, March 19, 2008 at 9:17 am

    your not alone Steph, hang in there, I hope you have more ‘take on anything’days than the bad days.

  3. 3 zoesquid Wednesday, March 19, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Hey Steph,
    Yay you for picking a great theme and fessing up to your demons. I too have many – and not sure wish one to expose. I think we met at the first Brown Owls meeting but couldnt remember your blog name. Anyway just wanted to say hi again and how much I admire your courage.
    Cheers
    Libby

  4. 4 Maureen Thursday, March 20, 2008 at 6:25 am

    NOOO….It’s all about ME!!! ME! ME! ME!

    Oh, I was supposed to wait?!?? But actually that is one I’ll -sometimes -claim right now. ;-p

  5. 5 crookb Thursday, March 20, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    You really should read the philip pullman books they are sooo good. I haven’t seen the film as I know I’ll only be disappointed! Also the interviews I’ve read he isn’t that happy as they cut alot of the harder hitting stuff out for the american market.

  6. 6 Donna Friday, March 21, 2008 at 3:12 am

    You are very brave, that is a great post, thanks for sharing. I’m off to unleash my inner demons now!

  7. 7 drewzel Friday, March 21, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    Maureen – I made the “all about me” cross stitch for my best friend Nat as a Christmas pressie :)

    Thanks all, I wasn’t looking for sympathy, but I appreciate your kind words.

  8. 8 Camilla Sunday, March 23, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    I’ve just joined in the ‘This is…’ game and came here to see what the theme was- it’s interesting because your real demon is my real demon, something i’m never sure if I should write about on my blog or not. I’m not 100% sure if i’ll be posting this demon just yet, because I have so many other ones that are more photogenic, but reading this is a little poke in the right direction for me.

  9. 9 Sophie Tuesday, March 25, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Thank you for sharing that with the great internet world/community. I have a personal daemon that i have been thinking about sharing on my blog for a while, and seeing that you have shared yours encourages me to share mine. but i am still thinking.

    my boyfriend (http://elmblog.wordpress.com) is currently studying mental health at uni (part of a paramedical science degree) and through him i am learning a little bit. i hope that through people like yourself talking about mental illness and how you live with it, that others will become more understanding and tolerant.

    thanks again for sharing, take care and enjoy the good days.

  10. 10 drewzel Wednesday, March 26, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    I find it easy to share anything with blog-land because not many people have met me in person, so it’s easy to hide!

    I am touched by the number of good wishes, and also suprised by the number of people that share similar demons to me.

    xxx


  1. 1 mining binance pool Trackback on Tuesday, August 2, 2022 at 11:14 am
  2. 2 dedicated server is cheap Trackback on Saturday, March 11, 2023 at 6:00 am

Leave a comment




blog portion

portion? (pôr'shən, pōr'-) n. 1. A section or quantity within a larger thing; a part of a whole. 2. A part separated from a whole. 3. A part that is allotted to a person or group, as: i. A helping of food. ii. The part of an estate received by an heir. iii. A woman's dowry. 4. A person's lot or fate. loves to stitch! "We don't see things as they are, we see things as we are." - Anais Nin

Tempus fugit

March 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Me:



handmade by me:


Available from: Meet me at Mikes 63 Brunswick st, Fitzroy, Victoria.
stitchybutton for blog

pimp stitch

perusals:

  • 145,536 hits

past portions

ad free blog

[Current header picture from a photo here. I *heart* Shorpy!]

My friend Flickr

The op-shop shall provide

aka "things I'm hoping to find there":
- old fashioned wire soap shaker

- cupboard for sewing room

- leather suitcase/luggage

- 1930s glass lamp shade

- "78" records

- vintage perpetual desk calendar


readmixtape





split personality:



We love fridays! Play along!